Skip to content

Losing my Religion??

April 2, 2011

 

Woodbridge, England – Time fly’s when you are enjoying yourself……

It seems only yesterday, not ten years ago, that I was brooding over the 2001 UK National Census form.

Now its 2011 and I sit a pen in hand methodically working through the UK Office for National Statistics latest Census offering. I’ve squared the issue of filling in the Census Form in the first place. Bikers are not supposed to conform, they exist on the edge of society in that  area between light and dark. Yes but by filling in the form I’m not conforming to the biker ethic of not conforming.

I’ve reached personal question twenty “What is your religion”. Angst time! It’s a voluntary question, should I answer? I decided too.

Of the available choices where do I fit. Is it a tick in the box besides “No religion”. Am I an atheist, do I reject the existence of a deities, surly that’s a belief in its self. Thus it must be  theism for me, there must be a deity out there somewhere that meets my needs.

Am I a Christian, a Buddhist, a Hindu, a Jew, a Muslim, a Sikh ahh ha “ Any other religion, write in” that must be me. More angst! I’m getting like Woody Allan.

I decide to write out a short list of possibilities to fill the seventeen letter spaces available. A religion in seventeen letters. I consider, Jedi, Samurai, Road Warrior,  Hells Angel (err perhaps not I don’t want the boys round), Ronin. I discount them all.

I have it! Twelve letters it fits with five spaces to spare. Carefully I insert the letters into the spaces provided m…o…t….o….r….c….y….c….l….i…s….t yep that’s me that’s my religion. My church is my local dealer, my pew the bike saddle, my bible a road map, my belief all men are free.

But wait will the Office for National Statistics  accept my choice, is my religion on the “approved” list. Will my religion simple go unrecognised counted as just “Other”. Am I in danger of losing my religion.

The message, as they say, is in the song:-

Ride safe, have fun and may your God ride with you.

© Back Roads Rider 2011

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Teapot permalink
    April 2, 2011 9:03 pm

    I did the same. I consider myself a motorcyclist, even when I’m not riding. In fact, I don’t actually have a ‘motorcycle’ at the moment and it makes no difference. I’m a motorcyclist whatever I’m riding. Even on a push bike (you can tell – I look behind, signal, countersteer, even stop at (most) red lights!).

  2. April 3, 2011 1:49 am

    What about Agnosticism? I was brought up a Christian, lost my faith, became Agnostic, now I realise my views are more Christian than they’ve ever been, so that’s that for me anyway. One funny thing, or perhaps not quite so funny depending on your views… If you apparently ‘lie’ about yourself on any part on your census you can be apparently prosecuted!?, however you can put whatever the fuck you like for the religion part, what a strange egotistical and fearful world we live in, I understand the methodology behind it, but its still ironic.

  3. April 4, 2011 6:33 pm

    I wrote “Biker”… I thought if one is true to one’s faith, it ought to be the shortest quickest way to convey myself!

    I suspect that there will be enough “bikers” and enough “motorcyclists” to create two new recognised religious groups…so is there going to be a religious debate over which is the only true faith?

  4. Teapot permalink
    April 6, 2011 11:07 am

    Oh dear! I just know that the powers that be will count ‘Biker’ as ‘Push biker’….

Trackbacks

  1. El Camino – The Road

Leave a Reply

